“Silver Linings Playbook” Wins Big at Satellite Awards

By Kirsten Anderson Uncategorized

The Satellites love "Silver Linings!"

Did I know or care about the Satellite Awards until this morning? No. No, I didn’t. Does it make my life any worse now that I do know about the results of this year’s awards? Absolutely not. In fact, you could argue that it made my life better, and it may improve yours. Trust me, read the results below and see how much better you feel.

First, what the heck are the Satellite Awards? They are presented by the International Press Academy, which includes the European Critics Association. The 17th annual awards were given out in Beverly Hills on Sunday.

The big winner? “Silver Linings Playbook,” which figures to make a splash at the Oscar nomination announcements, but I’m not sure how many actual awards it will win; probably not that many. Up until recently, Jennifer Lawrence was considered the favorite for the Best Actress award, but in the last week or so, Jessica Chastain in “Zero Dark Thirty” and Emmanuelle Riva in “Amour” have emerged as serious contenders. Well, Lawrence will always have her Satellite Award.

Here are the winners in the movie category:

  • Motion picture: “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Director: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Actor: Bradley Cooper, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Supporting Actor: Javier Bardem, “Skyfall”
  • Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway, “Les Miserables”
  • Original Screenplay: Mark Boal, “Zero Dark Thirty (2012)”
  • Adapted Screenplay: David Magee, “Life of Pi”
  • Motion Picture, Animated or Mixed Media: “Rise of the Guardians”
  • Motion Picture, Documentary: “Chasing Ice”
  • Motion Picture, International: (tie) “The Intouchables” and “Pieta”
  • Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, “Life of Pi”
  • Editing: Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers, “Silver Linings Playbook”
  • Score: Alexandre Desplat, “Argo”
  • Song: “Suddenly” from “Les Miserables”
  • Sound (editing and mixing): Andy Nelson, John Warhurst, Lee Walpole, Simon Hayes, “Les Miserables”
  • Visual Effects: Michael Lantieri, Kevin Baillie, Ryan Tudhope, Jim Gibbs, “Flight”
  • Art direction & production design: Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, Leslie McDonald, “Lincoln”
  • Costume design: Manon Rasmussen, “A Royal Affair”

Special Achievement Awards:

  • Outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry: Terence Stamp
  • Nikola Tesla Award: Walter Murch
  • Auteur Award: Paul Williams
  • Honorary Satellite Award: Bruce Davison
  • Newcomer Award: Quvenzhane Wallis, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
  • Humanitarian Award: Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
  • Motion Picture Ensemble: “Les Miserables”
  • Television Ensemble: “The Walking Dead”

No Comments

Leave a Comment