Online Film Critics Society Announce Nominees

By Kirsten Anderson Uncategorized

Who loves "The Master?" The Online Film Critics, that's who!

Just when you think we’ve run through all the nominees and “best of” lists, another one shows up. Hooray!!

Today we hear from the Online Film Critics Society. As you’ll see below, they are big fans of “The Master,” giving the Paul Thomas Anderson film eight nominations. They announce their awards on January 7th.

Best Picture:

“Holy Motors”
“The Master”
“Moonrise Kingdom”
“Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Animated Feature:

“The Secret World of Arrietty”
“Wreck-It Ralph”

Best Film Not in the English Language:

“Holy Motors”
“Rust and Bone”
“This Is Not a Film”
“The Turin Horse”

Best Documentary:

“The Imposter”
“The Invisible War”
“Jiro Dreams of Sushi”
“The Queen of Versailles”
“This Is Not a Film”

Best Director:

Ben Affleck, “Argo”
Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master”
Wes Anderson, “Moonrise Kingdom”
Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Leos Carax, “Holy Motors”

Best Actor:

Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”
John Hawkes, “The Sessions”
Denis Lavant, “Holy Motors”
Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”
Denzel Washington, “Flight”

Best Actress:

Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook”
Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour”
Quvenzhane Wallis, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Rachel Weisz, “The Deep Blue Sea”

Best Supporting Actor:

Alan Arkin, “Argo”
Dwight Henry, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Philip Seymour Hoffman, “The Master”
Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”
Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”

Best Supporting Actress:

Amy Adams, “The Master”
Ann Dowd, “Compliance”
Sally Field, “Lincoln”
Anne Hathaway, “Les Miserables”
Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”

Best Original Screenplay:

Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard, “The Cabin in the Woods”
Rian Johnson, “Looper”
Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master”
Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, “Moonrise Kingdom”
Mark Boal, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Adapted Screnplay:

Chris Terrio, “Argo”
Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Lana Wachowski, Tom Tykwer, and Andy Wachowski, “Cloud Atlas”
David Cronenberg, “Cosmopolis”
Tony Kushner, “Lincoln”

Best Editing:

William Goldenberg, “Argo”
Alexander Berner, “Cloud Atlas”
Leslie Jones and Peter McNulty, “The Master”
Stuart Baird, “Skyfall”
William Goldenberg and Dylan Tichenor, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Cinematography:

Claudio Miranda, “Life of Pi”
Janusz Kaminski, “Lincoln”
Mihai Malamiare Jr., “The Master”
Robert D. Yeoman, “Moonrise Kingdom”
Roger Deakins, “Skyfall”

No Comments

Leave a Comment